1 Lime 5 Ways

The other day I was making a salad to accompany my dinner.  I cut up an onion, tomatoes, chills, and juiced 1/2 a lime.  In my attempt to be more green and mindful I thought to myself “Hmmm, how else can I use this lime?”  To my surprise I was able to use 1/2 a lime in 4 other ways; the 5th way was not something I actually did but a use I thought of after the fact.

So how far did I take 1/2 a lime?  Further than I thought…

  1. I used the juice in my salad (the other half i put in the fridge for another day)
  2. I took the left over juiced lime to clean the cutting board I just cut my veggies on.
    • Just added some baking soda to my board
    • scrubbed it with my lime
    • gave it a rinse
  3. I then took that same lime to clean the kitchen sink
    • Add some baking soda to the sink
    • scrub with the lime
    • pour some vinegar to loosen up any grime
    • scrub with the lime again
    • rinse with water
  4. Finally, I added the lime to the compost pile
  5. And the bonus (the step I actually didn’t do but will next time) before juicing the lime, make some lime zest and add to the salad.

And voila 1 lime (actually 1/2 a lime) 5 ways 🙂

Moral of the story:  Don’t be too quick to throw something out.  It may still have some life left in it.

One thought on “1 Lime 5 Ways

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑